Site Logo

 
It is currently Fri Oct 31, 2014 11:45 am

All times are UTC - 6 hours




Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Power at the Factory
PostPosted: Mon Jun 20, 2011 2:45 pm 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:23 pm
Posts: 249
As many of you know the movement of wood into the new area has been slowed due to a lack of power. It was hoped that a source of the twist drop boxes could be found to facilitate the electrical connections needed.

Sorry, that most likely aint gonna happen. As the people at Viking said, "that is so out of code". The only remaining hope is that some scavenged part supplier has a stock. We are still checking them, but don't count on that. John and I have started shifting the assets we have and are moving some of the equipment in. However Electrical will now be on a catch as catch can basis so the move will be slowed even further.

A better update later this week.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power at the Factory
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 7:46 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 14, 2009 10:06 am
Posts: 1219
Location: NE Minneapolis
well, on the plus side of things, we now know sort of what it is. thanks for all the research judeling.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power at the Factory
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 8:15 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Thu Dec 02, 2010 12:25 pm
Posts: 75
Location: Minneapolis
Can you be more specific? I've got a pile of industrial electric stuff.

-Jim Hart


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power at the Factory
PostPosted: Tue Jun 21, 2011 10:39 am 
Offline

Joined: Tue Jan 13, 2009 1:23 pm
Posts: 249
Boltz,

It is a power track fused disconnect box. Think industrial track lighting. The boxes have a tee at the top that twist into the track and two ground/support clips. They are fused or breakered and will have a cord or a knockout for a cord.

Hope that helps.


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power at the Factory
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 7:39 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 5:07 pm
Posts: 66
I'm going over there right now, can someone direct me to how I can take pictures of it to post here and help facilitate sourcing the parts?


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power at the Factory
PostPosted: Wed Jun 22, 2011 11:32 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:12 pm
Posts: 750
I've got a picture I need to dump out of my phone, but the sample piece was in rough shape. I get it posted soon. Also I think sparkhut as researching it the other day, he may have more info.

Pete

[Updated with picture]

Attachment:
track_power_con.jpg
track_power_con.jpg [ 132.16 KiB | Viewed 755 times ]


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power at the Factory
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 8:12 am 
Offline
Site Admin
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 19, 2009 1:57 am
Posts: 385
Location: Minneapolis, MN
I see the code concerns some people have. lol

_________________
Check out #tcmaker on irc.freenode.net Click for Freenode Webchat
Maker Map - Add your location!
TC Maker Flickr Pool


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power at the Factory
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:05 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:06 am
Posts: 217
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN (EN35ic)
This is now manufactured by Siemens, as the BD Busway System. From the brochure I found:

Quote:
Introduced in 1932 by Bulldog Electric, BD Busway
has a heritage that boasts of thousands of installations still in operation today— 65 years later!
[...]
It’s strength is it’s design, which has not changed from
when it was introduced to the market, and that’s
dependability! 65 years later, you can order additional
busway that will be 100% compatible with your original
installation.

_________________
73 de KC0DZY


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power at the Factory
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 11:30 am 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 06, 2010 10:12 pm
Posts: 750
DanBackslide wrote:
This is now manufactured by Siemens, as the BD Busway System. From the brochure I found:


Are you sure? I only find 3 and 4 phase stuff when I search for BD Busway taps, what we need is all 120V single phase track and connectors.

To be clear, there are huge 3 phase delta buses through out the space, but they have no neutral or ground, so they are only useful for 3 phase equipment. So they aren't helpful for 120V outlets, which is the primary need. For ordinary tools etc we want 120V or 220V single phase with neutrals. The pictured tap plugs into the 120V strips that have the fused taps with portable cord coming out of them. The strips / buses are white for the most part and tight up against the ceiling, where as the big 3 phase busses are black and hang down lower.

Pete


Top
 Profile  
 
 Post subject: Re: Power at the Factory
PostPosted: Thu Jun 23, 2011 12:16 pm 
Offline
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2009 11:06 am
Posts: 217
Location: Brooklyn Park, MN (EN35ic)
Yeah, it's confusing... I'm finding references in Google to Siemens "Trol-E-Duct", but when you follow the links to Siemens there's nothing there. Maybe they renamed that particular product, or discontinued it.

_________________
73 de KC0DZY


Top
 Profile  
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic Reply to topic  [ 22 posts ]  Go to page 1, 2, 3  Next

All times are UTC - 6 hours


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB © 2000, 2002, 2005, 2007 phpBB Group
Template made by DEVPPL Flash Games